Feb. 19th, 2012

luckykaa: (Exterminate)
So, once again I went to Picocon. 

Decided to organise this as a meetup.com event.  This was more stressful than I was expecting.  It's easy when you know everyone but I don't.  We did manage to meet up. 5 of us did.  I have no idea if the other 4 who were meant to be coming simply didn't show up or what.  They had my number and didn't call so I presume that's what they did.

Talks were talky.  Crossword in the magazine was rubbish.  Too many clues referencing other clues.  Also there was a mistake, and the comment about the mistake had a mistake in it.  Have decided I don't like turkey readings.  The problem is not that I find the books bad, but because I find them dull and when things are dull I tune them out.  Shortage of good beer in the bar,  Went for the cider instead.  That all sounds rather negative, but Picocon is always good fun.  Since it always follows the same format, I'd just be repeating previous years talking about them

Did manage to get a team together for the quiz.  There were only three of us.  We came second to last.  I'd actually read a few of the books this time.  Shocking how compulsively reading for the best part of a year seems to have improved my knowledge of books.  Would be nice if they had a few questions from other media though.  There were about 5 from TV and films.

More people need to see Dead Like Me.  Yes, I'm looking at you, [livejournal.com profile] metalgirl2045!

Bought a t-shirt as I'd offered to do for [livejournal.com profile] omylouse.  Then forgot my bag in the restaurant.  This contained the t-shirt that I so heroically fought for.  Ooops.  And kinda annoyed about that.  Fortunately a very nice friend picked it up so now it's just a logistical problem. 

Another convention next weekend.  Hope I have the energy for it.
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:24 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios