Feb. 27th, 2012

luckykaa: (Default)

Well, that was fun.  Shaky start, caused partly by lack of sleep.  Arrived late on Sunday, was slightly agitted by cocking up room booking, and the radiator was too hot.

Was on a panel - Media Mars.  Not sure why...  Wasn't really prepared well enough.  A rather bad talk by a member of the Mars society on getting to Mars.  He didn't interact with the audience at all.  Just read notes.  And him snapping "next!" for each slide was a little jarring.  Skipped out early and investigated the bar.  Charlie Stroos interview was fun.  He's very knowledgable.  Usual issue of one rambling question... 

Saw the panel on ultimate fantasy death match (Docor's Wife/TARDIS won, I think).  [livejournal.com profile] emmzi organised a drinks appreciation event.  The ASBO drinks of Scotland.  This was an absolutely fantastic mixer event.  The cheap drinks on offer were consistently awful.  Disco had the usual issue of nobody dancing.  Not many people in costume either.  (I'd brought my rocket pack, there was a very good Marvin the Martian with a knitted helmet, a space man, Chi and a character I don't quite recognise with a yellow helmet and red cloak.

Sunday, more talks an panels, met a girl dressed as Chell from portal.  I appear to have been of amusement to a 12 year old girl.  Joined in the silly interactive game and was on the winning team for the quiz.  Yay!

Had to leave rather earlier than I wanted because my hotel room was about to leave.  Sleeper service is fairly pleasant but looks rather tatty.  Very much a relic from BR days.  We do have a "lounge" though.  It's a slightly posher buffet car.  Alas, no mains power points in the carriages.  The odd refreshment is included.  The berth is really quite cozy.

luckykaa: (Train)
So, went up to Glasgow at the weekend. 

On the way up, first class.  Found somewhere to eat, went to the first class lounge.  Unlike GNER, many years back, Virgin actually let those of us with advance tickets in there. It's also a lot nicer than it was 7 years ago.  I really should travel first class more often.  The lounge has a quiet area, a noisy non-quiet area, free tea, coffee, fruit juice and biscuits.  It does get a bit crowded at 6:00 on a Friday evening. 

Paying the extra for the journey is really worth it.  The seats are nice and large.  The place is spotlessley clean.   There's a row of singles for the single travellers so no risk of having to share space with someone else.  Staff come every so often with complementary drinks and sandwiches.  Pendelino train doesn't actually seem much different inside from a Mk IV. 

Am still somewhat irritated that we use these imported tilting trains rather than a descendant of the APT - that wonderful (and slightly faster) design form a quarter of a century ago, as seen in my icon.

Train back I took the sleeper.  First class again.  You don't get quite so much for your money in first class though.  The sleeper stock hasn't been refurbished since the 70's or 80's when it was introduced.  If you peek into the galley you can still see the old BR logo on the microwaves.  The main attraction is a single berth.  Additional benefits include a voucher for free refreshments, and a breakfast. Although the breakfast is an airline meal.  No real reason for that as far as I can see.  There is a window, with a blind that I had no idea how to open.  I also apparently get to use the shower in the first class lounge at Euston.  Wish someone had said.  That would have been nice. Maybe next time.

I did manage to sleep reasonably well.  Took me a while to get off and I was jolted awake a few times, and had a bizarre dream involving being left behind at Crewe before waking up and finding myself on the train.  Was woken up a bit earlier than I'd have liked.  6:45 wakeup is a little early for a train that starts at 11:15 the previous night.  Not a brilliant night's sleep but adequate.
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:24 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios