luckykaa: (cortina)
[personal profile] luckykaa
So, I get to the car park by Shotover Common.  There's another car in front of me rolling slowly forward. 

I wanted to go to the right of her.  Rather than do the whole which-side-do-we-pass dance, I stop and let her make the decision and go around me.  She carries on going forwards.  Straight towards me. 

Then I notice she's actually looking at something on the passenger seat and not paying any attention at all to where she's going. 

I watch in confusion for a few seconds before deciding perhaps I should go into reverse and take evasive action.  She looks up and slams on the brakes amazed that the car that's been there ofr the best part of a minute has suddenly appeared. 

Call me old fashioned, but I've always felt it was the responsibility of the person moving to prevent collisions. 

(no subject)

Date: 2009-05-04 11:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pewterfish.livejournal.com
...and there was me defending the UK driving test as one of the best (i.e. hardest to pass while being an idiot) in the world, just the other day. *sigh* Another one slipped through the net, I guess.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-05-04 11:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ingaborg.livejournal.com
It would have been very funny if you'd had a camera phone handy and had videod her driving into you...really it would be a good idea to have a camera handy whenever driving, e.g. to snap number plates.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-05-05 11:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blue-sun-scribe.livejournal.com
I'm constantly surprised and saddened by the number of idiots of the road these days.
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 10:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios