luckykaa: (Travel)
[personal profile] luckykaa
Arrived in New York. After a 7 hour flight, we were hoping the passport control queue would be reasonably quick. And it was moving reasonably quickly, until 5:50pm, when it seems every passport control officer left and just two booths were open. An hour later they re-opened. No explanation, except that perhaps JFK airport sucks. We eventually escaped and decided that we should get a taxi to the hotel. A woman was directing people to taxis which might have worked, but people were just getting in the next available cab and not the one she said. Still, eventually we got to the hotel and met with [personal profile] flickums' friend Liz. We then went out and ate, before heading straight to bed.

Next day we went shopping! Went to the big bookshop, and the NHL store and hunted down a bagel. Then went to the Metropolitan museum of art, to look at the display of costumes. This involved a stroll through central part, where we tried to get photos of various statues without tourists and their kids getting in the way. Really wish parents wouldn't let their kids climb all over these things.

Then we went to see the stage version of Frozen. It was really good! The lighting effects and the set were fantastic. Naturally there was a big solo number from Elsa. Really enjoyed it.

So, that was fun.

Today was my birhtday, so it was all the things I wanted to do. This included going up the Empire State building, and seeing a broadway show. The Empire State Bulding really needs to be admired properly. It's height is impressive, and it's certainly famous, but people also need to pay attention to the art-deco styling. It really is quite striking.

I could have chosen Frozen today instead, but I felt that was really Flickums' choice and I wanted something for myself. So we saw Phantom Of The Opera instead. Partly because that was the only thing I wanted to see that had cheap tickets at the booth. Really was enjoyable though, and unlike the movie, everyone could actually sing.

Srtruggled back to the hotel through crowds celebreating Brazil Day or something, and then struggled back the other way for a birthday dinner. I had steak! Flickums had steak. They made a big deal about the Idaho potato fries. They tasted like chips. Mine came with mash. It tasted like mash.

Little disapointed with the hotel. The lobby is nice, an the bed is big and comfy, but charging for wi-fi really seems like penny pinching. Charging $20 a day for it is daylight robbery, and I may as well pay roaming charges. There is limited free internet in the lobby but it only allows an hour a day, and the clock resets if you attempt to log in before the 23 hours is up.
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios