luckykaa: (Wolf)
I went dog sledding. Now smell of dog.

Oodles of fun. Was encouraged to see if I could drive, because it is "funny" according to the girl in the Tourist Information office. I decided she probably meant "fun" but not totally sure. So I got to be a passenger in the sled on the way out and drive on the way back. Driving is a lot more fun than sitting. Sitting is a little too close to the dog.

These dogs are energetic! They're raring to go at the start, pulling against the anchored sled, doing the canine equivalent of a wheelie. As soon as the brake is released, they're off. Driving - at least for these tourist trips is pretty easy. The dogs know where they're going. The driver just has to work the brakes (two of them - one slows down the other digs into the snow to completely stop) and not fall off. Really pleased we got to go first. The weather got a bit blowy and kicked up the snow a bit. Meant second group didn't get to drive.

After we get back we got to play with the dogs. These huskies are as excitable as puppies. Really lovely friendly animals. Full of energy and really friendly. Socialised around people from a very early age so they love to meet people and play.

Followed up with a reindeer stew and chatted with my co-driver and a French couple.

Had the afternoon free so went to the Polar Museum. Mostly okay but stuff about hunting makes me feel sad. What was interesting was the exhibit on Nansen's Fram expedition to explore the Arctic. Very well equipped and they even converted the ship to a set of workshops to make sure they had all the equipment they could need.
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:51 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios