luckykaa: (Default)
[personal profile] luckykaa
Ah yes. 24 countries. And one or two of the songs were pretty good.

Food!

It was a fun day. Spent most of Friday and Saturday morning cooking and being paranoid about there being enough food. Don't know why I worrited. 22 mini quiches, two trays of spinach feta filo wraps, a couple of dozen chicken skewers, some salad, pizza and one jaffa cake* should have been enough and that's just the home made stuff. Also had some strawberries and cheese if that wasn't enough.

*15" diameter. I like my jaffzilla.

People!

Decent enough turnout. Me, [livejournal.com profile] tinkerbell1980, [livejournal.com profile] tictactoepony , [livejournal.com profile] masterofapath , [livejournal.com profile] lemming_man , [livejournal.com profile] squirrel_dreams, [livejournal.com profile] cath_er_ine, . That's about as many people as will fit in my house. Tink arrived early which was helpful because I had someone to helop finish off the cooking.

So, people arrived. I wanted to go to Brighton to see some of the Streets of Brighton stuff for Brighton festival. Unfortinately cat herding skills aren't all they should be so we ended up at the pier.

Eurovision
Terry was surprisingly quiet. Either after 27 years he's run out of things to say, they only allowed him one glass of Whiskey, or Finland is just a little too cool to make it worth mocking. They actually had presenters to present and only one costume change (Drinking rules. We were keeping track), although the fangirl in the pink dress was impressively annoying.

[Warning RealPlayer Links Ahead]
Ever the patriot, [livejournal.com profile] tinkerbell1980 was delighted that Israel hadn't made it. Although their entry didn't seem too bad. Strong shades of Gogol Bordello there. Out of the other non-finalists, take a look at Denmark. Now, skip 14 seconds into This Youtube video. They're the same person! Leaping from song to song. Hoping the next leap... will be the leap home.

Hungary had no chance of winning due to being quite good really. Greece decided to do do a Ricky Martin thing, France decided to just be really really weird. I think it was about a man's love for his dead cat or something Ukraine decided to help out with the drinking game by adding some German lyrics. Fast, pacy, extravagant, extremely Eurovision. Ukraine got the Brighton vote.

And when they started voting, we were so hopeful. It looked like we could make a clean sweep and get nil points. [livejournal.com profile] masterofapath thoght it would be cool if we only got 12 points but all from one country. Malta obliged. Unfortunately Ireland had already messed things up by that time. We could blame the war, but I think the real reason we did so badly was that the song was utter rubbish.

[livejournal.com profile] squirrel_dreamsdemonstrated just how much she likes cheese. Clearly a mouse in a previous incarnation. The dolcelate didn't have a chance.

Singstar

We were still feeling musical, so it was time for Singstar. I impressed everyone by scoring some points without actuaollly hitting a note. Wish I could actually sing.

Singstar original has a lot of the best songs but the worst software. So I used another version (I most of them), which worked a lot better.

If only I had more space to store people.

it was fun

Date: 2007-05-13 11:04 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tinkerbell1980.livejournal.com
thanks 4 a brillient time

(no subject)

Date: 2007-05-13 07:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cath-er-ine.livejournal.com
You forgot to mock me publicly for throwing the microphone at Mark as I was too scared to sing at it!

(no subject)

Date: 2007-05-13 07:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luckykaa.livejournal.com
No I didn't. Next entry down. I just decided to keep it anonymous becaus eI 'm not that mean.

(no subject)

Date: 2007-05-14 11:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tictactoepony.livejournal.com
Thanks for organising - much fun!
Proved sufficiently unwinding that I've survived half a day at work without getting stressed (even after 15 mins waiting for BT to answer their helpdesk phone, only to tell me there bill authorisation system's broken til the evening.
Cheers!

(no subject)

Date: 2007-05-15 02:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mizzykitty.livejournal.com
I'm so sad that Ukraine didn't win. They were so freakin awesome. And France was good too, and we could all have actually gone to it next year! But alas, I wasn't expecting anyone to really vote for France. I was pretty disappointed about Ukraine tho.

I think Terry hadn't much to say because Finland was already taking the piss in most of their commercials. You can't make fun of someone who's already making fun of themselves. Even the pink dress girl was so over the top annoying that they had to have done it on purpose.
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios